Who are the Illuminati?

The Pythagorean Illuminati claims to be a secret society founded by ancient Greek polymath Pythagoras. They claim to have created the worldview known as Pythagorean Illuminism. Anonymous authors, using the pseudonyms of Adam Weishaupt, Mike Hockney, Michael Faust, Brother Cato, Brother Malus and Brother Abaris present this view and claim to be undercover communications agents for the Pythagorean Illuminati. The purpose of the Pythagorean Illuminati is to bring about a New World Order based on the doctrine that each living being has the capacity to become a God. Pythagorean Illuminism is based off of works by thinkers such as Leibniz, Hypatia, Hegel, Heraclitus, Goethe and Simon Magus who are claimed to have been members of this society. The result of this lengthy and varied intellectual heritage, is a system of knowledge known as Ontological Mathematics. As such, Pythagorean Illuminism is presented as a potential theory of everything.  One of the major aims of the series of books published by the Pythagorean Illuminati, is to dispel perceived myths and misinformation spread by conspiracy theorists such as David Icke which they perceive as having damaged their public image, putting their political and scientific goals in jeopardy.


Weishaupt claims that the Pythagorean Illuminati has a global membership of approximately six thousand people. The membership is divided into ten degrees. Degrees one to seven are considered 'ordinary degrees' and degrees eight to ten as 'mystery degrees.' Presiding over all degrees are the twelve person ruling council chaired by the Grand Master. The Grand Master is elected by the Ruling Council, and remains in the post until death. Members are also divided into 'cells' which are assigned their own project. The aforementioned authors are one such cell specializing in communications.

The Pythagorean Illuminati are claimed to have been a left wing Meritocracy from its inception. Merit was the only criteria for progress within the Order's ranks. The Grand Master is voted in by a group of his qualified peers. The term used at the time was Aristocracy (rule by the best) rather than Meritocracy, however the modern Pythagorean Illuminati view the term as having been hijacked by the Capitalist elite who consider wealth as a measure of merit and chose not to label themselves Plutocrats. An aristocrat to the Pythagorean Illuminati is a person with superior talents and intellect and has nothing to do with material wealth.


Originally the degrees were named using Pythagoras's symbolic cosmology and Greek mythology.

1. The Heaven of the Fixed Stars

2. Kronos

3. Zeus

4. Ares

5. Helios

6. Aphrodite

7. Hermes

8. Selene

9. Gaia

10. Antichthon


Later during the Roman period, the degrees were renamed in Latin in order to fit in with Mithraism. The Latin names are still used by the Order in the present day.

1. Corax

2. Nymphus

3. Miles

4. Leo

5. Perses

6. Heliodromus

7. Pater

8. Minerva

9. Magus

10. Deus Absconditus

Learn about the History of the Illuminati here »